Knife Talk Online Forums
  Home membership Help Search Calendar Members Classifieds Treasury Store Links Gallery Media Center Login Register  
Custom Search
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: If its ugly should you build it?  (Read 2186 times)
Robertv6
Trade Count: (0)

View Profile
« on: February 06, 2007, 03:11:26 AM »

I am in the process of drawing out a knife for the son of a friend of mine.  He is a sailor by trade and wants a sailing knife, one of a wharcliff design, of which is not a particularly.....eye pleasing design... to my preference.  I started to make a ...techno type, with a chisel grind and a cord wrapped handle.  Nawww, i like wood and natural handle materials.  The function of this knife is to cut rope primarly...i think.  What i came up with, is a wharcliff blade of about 3 and 3/4 in, 1/2 ricasso, bronze guard and handle.  I was thinking of how he will hold it while cutting rope on ship.  I ended up with the handle being elevated above the centerline of the blade.  Kinda like how mr. scagle had his handles slightly higher than the centerline of his knives.  Reason being it gives, what i believe, more  leverage to the cutting edge and some clearance in downward cutting motion. The elevated handle will also allow some clearance for the fingers, while pushing down on a flat surface...cutting rope on surface, rather than free hanging. I thought to make the guard a continuation from the blade, sweeping up at an incline and rounded at top, so that you could put your thumb there,mainly on the guard and partially on the spine of the blade to add pressure while cutting. This would i think reduce fatigue on the thumb under alot of pressure or with wet and cold hands.