Knife Talk Online Forums
  Home membership Help Search Calendar Members Classifieds Treasury Store Links Gallery Media Center Login Register  
Custom Search
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: quenchant???  (Read 1492 times)
dwcustomknives
Trade Count: (0)

View Profile
« on: January 29, 2016, 04:30:56 AM »

howdy from texas,  newbie to the forum.

little about myself i have been making knives for almost 2 years now and have had the privilege of having John I. Shore and Marvin Winn for mentors.  i do strictly stock removal and have dealt mainly in stainless steels which i send out for heat treat.  I recently starting making some full tang bowie style knives in 1095 and was wanting to try 52100 and through some research found out about Ed Fowler and how well his knives perform using 52100. 

so i received my first stick of 52100 today and was wondering about quenchant type, for 1095 i use parks 50 since it needs a super fast quench, will this work for 52100 and still give the same performance. i understand i will have to work with the steel to se what works for me, but was wondering if any one out there has used it before?

one other question for now, i do hamons on my 1095 blades using clay and was wondering if anyone has used clay on their blades or is it strictly edge quenching?

thanks, i am sure i will have questions later as i near the heat treat stages of this journey.

Dustin Williams

John Silveira

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2016, 06:29:25 AM »

Oh boy !  welcome aboard.

Ed has a whole method of working 52100 if you search a bit here. the more i've studied the methods and have seen videos of the results etc the blades really are performers.

the quenchant needed for 52100 is Texaco A - 18 second quench - medium speed.

The edge quenching is to retain a flexible spine that is unhardened . helps keep blades from snapping in two pieces from being full hardened.