Knife Talk Online Forums
  Home membership Help Search Calendar Members Classifieds Treasury Store Links Gallery Media Center Login Register  
Custom Search
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: How To Re-Size Photos Using Picasa  (Read 2176 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
PhilL
Administrator
Trade Count: (0)
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067



View Profile WWW
« on: June 24, 2011, 10:30:20 PM »

I get asked all the time how to get photos the right size to post here on KTO.
I've had a tutorial here for years on exactly how I do it in  Photoshop, but what if you don't have Photoshop.

I don't have Picasa, but it's from Google and I've heard nothing but good things about it.
Probably the best part is it's FREE!

You can download it here:
http://www.windows7download.com/win7-google-picasa/fujtxcnb.html

I found a nicely done YouTube video on how to re-size photos.

<embed type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="http://www.youtube.com/v/MPUoV5uzMqY" width="425px" height="350px" AllowScriptAccess="never" quality="high" wmode="transparent" /><noembed><object codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=8,0,0,0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="http://www.youtube.com/v/MPUoV5uzMqY" width="425px" height="350px"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/MPUoV5uzMqY" /><param name="wmode" value="transparent" /><param name="allowScriptAccess" value="never" /><param name="pluginspage" value="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></object>


Once you have your re-sized photos on your desktop this thread will get them from your desktop to your posts.

http://knifetalkonline.com/smf/index.php?topic=489.0

It's Free it's simple, give it a try.
We all would really like to see your photos.    

Logged

You can have anything You want in Life, as long as you?re willing to pay the Price.
So, figure out what price there is to pay, and Pay It.


 
larnotlars
Trade Count: (0)
Sr. Member
****
Posts: 123


If everyone knows IT, IT likely ain't true.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2011, 04:37:48 AM »

I just purchased a new Nikon Coolpix L-120.  I purchased it after taking pictures of my etched blade with every camera in the store.  So, I brought it home and messed with my photos with Nikon's NX2 software (it's a jpeg camera not raw).  When I finally tried to post my pic online, I had to lower resolution to the point that the blade was a nearly uniform gray, even though the origional pic showed the grain. the lowest file size that showed the grain was 500kb instead of 100.

Is there something that I am not getting? Is a Jpeg only camera a problem if it can pick up the grain easily?

I do appreciate the lesson, I have been frustrated with this topic for quite a while.

Lar
Logged

Ever since I took up forging, I have noticed that I am much less likely to hit my thumb with the hammer! 8-$
PhilL
Administrator
Trade Count: (0)
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2011, 11:59:08 AM »

Lar, the difference between what a good quality camera can capture and what a computer monitor can reproduce is huge. The problem used to be the difference between what the eye could see and film could capture and then printing could reproduce.

When you say that the blade was reduced to a "uniform gray" it sounds to me that maybe you're losing more detail than is needed. It's hard to tell without seeing the original photo. If you like you are more than welcome to email the photo and I'll give it my best effort to reproduce as much detail as I can.

philip.labarbera@gmail.com
Logged

You can have anything You want in Life, as long as you?re willing to pay the Price.
So, figure out what price there is to pay, and Pay It.


Harold Locke
Member
Trade Count: (0)
Hero Member
***
Posts: 599


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2011, 11:19:47 AM »

Phil and Lar,

Phil, I wonder if the photo is being saved to many times, the thing about .jpg format is that evertime you save the photo is that is recompess' itself and throws away pixals. Phil, don't you work from .psd it and uncompressed format and then use the program to go directly to the size photo that the copy will need to be?

Harold Locke
Logged
PhilL
Administrator
Trade Count: (0)
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 1067



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2011, 11:43:03 AM »

Harold, that wasn't the problem in this case.
Lar was kind enough to send me the photo in question, not the full size, but after it had been reduced to 72 ppi.
The problem was the original photo could have been better. Usually a little more time spent before you click the shutter solves the problem.
Logged

You can have anything You want in Life, as long as you?re willing to pay the Price.
So, figure out what price there is to pay, and Pay It.


Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Send this topic  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!